Acid Raine
2 min readSep 19, 2020

“We can figure this out. I know… I know it’s a fucking mess. I know. But we can choose to be happy.”

He pleaded, even sounded sincere! Of course, soon after he uttered those words he got himself killed, proving that a) it was indeed a fucking mess and b) maybe you don’t get to choose.

Ah, but he was just a character, spouting off his lines because those were the ones he was given.. a plot device, a story line of love that ran beneath the surface the entire time… not unrequited but instead over shadowed by revenge until it bubbled to the surface - finally. Still, he never got what he wanted, it was ultimately decided by the compounded desire of never ending revenge and even as I said “No, I don’t think you can…” still I wondered.

Take away the revenge, the driving purpose behind one person’s refusing to allow herself something good and someone else’s blind hatred for everyone involved.. could they have chosen? Despite it being a fucking mess, was it as easy as just choosing to be happy? Can you even choose that? Do you just get what you deserve, what your choices have led to, or can you really choose?

Huh.

I reflected inward. Could I choose that? Just go “Yeah it’s a fucking mess, but screw it, let’s be happy” What does choosing to be happy mean exactly? I don’t think it means ignoring the other complications, the roadblocks, the glaringly huge pits in the road… No. I think the choosing means to look past them, to the horizon and dealing with one obstacle at a time, as they come - together. In doing so, do you find the happiness as you overcome each one? Whoa, can you can be happy despite the fucking mess?

Maybe you can.

Acid Raine

Against perfection. Chaos. Oblivious. Emptying my mind of words and surprised when they form sentences. Randomness and inspired ramblings. Thank you Muses.